General News

View All

The Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa formally known as ‘’Gateway (ICT) Polytechnic, Igbesa’’ held her 12th Matriculation Ceremony on Thursday, 8th March, 2018 at the Institute’s Multipurpose Hall under the headship of the Indefatigable and dynamic Rector, Engr. Dr. (Mrs.) Olufunke Olanike Akinkurolere, whose tenure engineered the 1st Combined Convocation Ceremony since inception in 2006. The Convocation Ceremony which was held on the 14th October, 2017 signaled good omen to the rapid developmental prospects of the Institution and Igbesa community in terms of socio-economic activities of the town taking purposeful advantage. In her remarks, the Honourable Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Ogun State, Mrs Modupe Mujota emphasized the Ogun State Government’s project partnership with some Organizations to enhance practical curriculum in vocational and technical skills programme in Institutions of higher learning since the State is the Industrial capital of Nigeria. She therefore advised the matriculating students not to relent in their Academic performances and be prepared for future challenges. In the same vein, Dr. Akinkurolere thanked the Moderator of the Institute, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, CON, FCA for the tremendous and unflinching supports the Institution has enjoyed over the years taking the citadel of learning to enviable heights. She thereafter reiterated Management’s zero tolerance for cultism, gangsterism, Indecent dressing and other anti-social behaviours on campus. She also advised the matriculating students to be more determined, dedicated and focused in their studies; by engaging in entrepreneurship programmes available in the Institute which in turn makes them employers of labour in future. However, this year’s matriculation ceremony recorded enrolment of over Two Thousand (2,000) matriculating students, into full and part-time Academic Programmes both at the National and Higher National Diploma levels in line with the recommendations of the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE).